Gimme gimme gimme…

Hi folks, it’s been five days since my last post. How have y’all been? I’ve been a bit busy, but trust me, y’all were on my mind… šŸ™‚

Have you ever been walking in the street and a scrawny kid just clings to you begging for money? Well, in my country, there are lots of immigrants from the neighbouring northern countries for whom begging is a culture, a lifestyle. So this little boy just came up to a man and held his hands, asking for money. He asked the boy to follow him home so he’d go to school and stop begging, and the boy promptly left him. His parents, who were sitting at a corner beside an old dilapidated building, quickly motioned to the boy to come back.

Then I looked at the parents. They appeared healthy, missing no limbs or any other body parts, and I wondered why people would be content with begging for a living. Even some disabled people would work for a living. And it occurred to me that it all had to do with the mind. Nobody would stoop to beg except if the person had already accepted that he/she did not deserve any better…like the boy and his parents refusing education and the means to a better way of life. I wondered how long they wanted to keep begging.

Like I said, it’s all in the mind: to do or not to do; to be or not to be. Sometimes we know what and how and when to do what to do, but a lot of times there’s what I call mental laziness…and when it happens, just tell yourself, like Nike puts it: JUST DO IT!

Cheers y’all…one luv!

Posted from WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

