Post 1, 2014

Okay, this happens to be my first post of the year, so before I go further…I hope you had an amazing Christmas and an absolutely wonderful New Year. Right now I’m on my way back to civilisation as far as 3.5G connection is concerned :).

Lemme tell you what happened over the hols. If you’re in good ole Naija, shey you know say Christmas no dey complete without chicken? So in the spirit of Christmas, a live fowl came to stay in the house by means of Christmas bonus at work. Our new visitor came early, so it had like 5 days to go before being summarily executed. We tried to make it as comfortable as possible by providing food, shelter and water, but it looked like Mr. Chicken knew his fate, because he seemed sad to me. 😦 He didn’t seem to want any company, not even the children’s, and he would just peck quietly around the house. Did I even hear him crow at dawn? I don’t think so. That’s how it went, until 2 days to Christmas, Mr. Chicken slumped and died in a part of the compound where we would be sure to see him. I was the first to find him dead. I felt sad for him, even though I was looking forward to eating chicken gizzard. Everyone did feel sad, though our reasons varied. We did give Mr. Chicken a decent burial though, and went ahead to buy a carton of his cousins’ body parts frozen and brought in from far-away lands.

My conclusion: our chicken guy preferred to rather die than be eaten by humans…    

image

Gabriel Metsu (1629-1669)
The Dead Cockerel

…Now that was one thing I found interesting during the hols. The second was the 3 year old yam that I saw still in the process of being harvested when I went with my uncle’s family to my hometown. My grandma had patiently waited for her son to come and remove it for her, pics after the cut…
image

massive innit? 🙂

I’m sure you’ve got some more interesting stories of your own…share the fun as you comment to this post, it would be great to hear from you after such a long while *covers face*…one love! 

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Post 1, 2014

  1. emelekude says:

    lolz… I think d chicken was lucky to find a home in Urs… I know in some places they won’t mind cutting it up and making a nice stew out of it. death na death joor… at least it saved the trouble of beheading… lolz.
    Happy new year d diva

    Like

Leave a Reply

